Belle Plaine's Weather Report
Belle Plaine's Weather Report
living from home
5
0:00
-4:14

living from home

new recordings and new projects
5

Oh hello,

If you haven’t already gotten curious and clicked play on that box above, please do. I’ve included a cover of a Townes Van Zandt song called “If I Needed You”. I’ll explain more in a moment, but have a listen while you read, would you? 1

Have you ever wondered what it would be like to appear on a reality television show?

I must have because I’m now starring in one. And it was my idea.

It’s called Living From Home and it’s a ticketed 60 minute special that features Blake and I at home, doing what we do. You know… playing music, being married. And there’s new recordings that we created for it that I’m excited to share. (Like the one that maybe you’re listening to right now?)

We shot Living From Home with our friend little jack films over a single weekend. He played the part of a professional third wheel and documented the things we do – the morning coffee ritual, our rehearsals, studio recording sessions and cribbage, of course. Always cribbage. You’ll see a few familiar faces – Bryce and Steve – and a pair of new ones in Bryn Besse and Chris Dimas.

I’ve wanted to do something like this for awhile. It’s playful and intimate and feels so good to put into the world.

The show will be streamed through the kind folks at Side Door. You can watch it with us for the premiere on May 1st and gab with us live in the comments section. If your dance card is already filled for May 1st, don’t fret! The stream is available for viewing for 48 hours after the initial airing. Just be sure to get a ticket so you have access.


BUY TICKETS FOR MAY 1

Before I close, I recently read a lovely passage in Annie Dillard’s book, Pilgrim at Tinker Creek. I’ve thought about it for days and wanted to share it with you.

…beauty and grace are performed whether or not we will or sense them. The least we can do is try to be there.

I hope you have the kind of weekend where you’re “there” for the good stuff.

1
If I Needed You
written by Townes Van Zandt
recorded and mixed by Bryn Besse
produced by Blake Berglund
vocal + acoustic guitar: Belle Plaine
acoustic guitar + bass: Blake Berglund
vocal + electric guitar: Bryn Besse
5 Comments
Belle Plaine's Weather Report
Belle Plaine's Weather Report
Prairie singer/songwriter observing the everyday through stories, songs and poems. Published for paid subscribers every eight days, monthly for free.
Listen on
Substack App
RSS Feed
Appears in episode
Belle Plaine
Recent Episodes